Primary Navigation

News & Media

Alpha transparency layer
Gonzalo P. CurielGonzalo P. Curiel

Print Quality Photo

Betsy K. GreeneBetsy K. Greene

Print Quality Photo

Steven M. PostSteven M. Post

Print Quality Photo

Laurie N. Robinson HadenLaurie N. Robinson Haden

Print Quality Photo

Randolph SegerRandolph Seger

Print Quality Photo

Ken Turchi
Maurer School of Law
Office 812-856-4044

James Boyd
IU Maurer School of Law
Office 812-855-0156


IU Maurer School of Law appoints five alumni to Board of Visitors

March 1, 2017


BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- Five prominent alumni have been named to the Board of Visitors of the Indiana University Maurer School of Law.

“The law school has been fortunate to have such a tremendously engaged and dedicated Board of Visitors. They have been critical in the school’s success,” said Austen L. Parrish, dean and the James H. Rudy Professor of Law. “We are honored that five more of the nation’s leaders in private practice, business and the judiciary have agreed to join. They bring such a wealth of experience and expertise, and I look forward to working with them.”

“Both personally and on behalf of the Indiana University Maurer School of Law Board of Visitors, I am pleased to welcome to our midst such a distinguished group of alumni to carry on the tradition of excellence that our school has engendered for over 175 years," said Stephen H. Paul, '72, chair of the Board of Visitors. "I am confident that their contributions to our deliberations will manifest itself for years to come.” 

“The Board of Visitors plays a crucial role in the law school’s long-term success, and I look forward to working with them,” said Elissa Preheim, ’96, vice chair. “I’m delighted that our newest members reflect the wide-ranging professional and personal accomplishments of our alumni community.”

The Board of Visitors was established in 1964. It serves as an advisory committee to the law school’s dean in his effort to maintain and improve the school's national standing, and to provide assistance in self-studies and evaluations of the school and its programs.

The new members are:

U.S. District Judge Gonzalo P. Curiel, ’79, a federal judge for the Southern District of California. He was appointed by President Barack Obama on Oct. 1, 2012. He previously served as a San Diego Superior Court judge from 2006 through 2012 and was assigned to its family, civil and criminal law departments. From 1979 to 1986, Curiel worked in private practice at James, James & Manning in Dyer, Indiana, and handled civil and criminal cases in state and federal courts. From 1989 to 2002, he worked as an assistant United States attorney in the San Diego and Los Angeles offices.

As an assistant United States attorney, he received a number of performance awards, including the director’s award for superior performance for his work leading efforts against Mexican drug cartels, international maritime drug traffickers and corrupt U.S. border inspectors. In 2014, Curiel served as the law school’s commencement ceremony speaker. He was inducted into the school’s Academy of Law Alumni Fellows in 2016.

Betsy K. Greene, ’82, a partner at Greene & Schultz Trial Lawyers in Bloomington, Indiana, since June 1, 2005. Greene joined Nunn & Kelley Law Office in 1988 and was a partner from 1990 until leaving to start her own firm in February 2005, representing people injured or killed by negligence. Greene has tried over 100 jury trials in her career. Greene has been a member of the Indiana Trial Lawyers Association since 1989 and a director since 1992. She is a past president of Indiana Trial Lawyers Association (2007-08) and the Monroe County Bar Association (2005). She has been inducted into the Indiana Trial Lawyers Association College of Fellows and is an emeritus director of the association's board of directors.

Greene has been a member of the American Association for Justice since 1990, currently serving as an Indiana representative to its Board of Governors. She graduated from Gerry Spence’s Trial Lawyers College in 2005 and has been on the faculty since 2010. Greene teaches trial skills across the country and is a frequent lecturer in Indiana. She serves on the Monroe County Public Defender Board by appointment of the Board of Judges. 

Steven M. Post, ’77, the retired senior vice president, general counsel and corporate secretary of L-3 Communications, a New York-based company that provides a broad range of communication and electronic systems, with over $10 billion in annual sales. At L-3 and predecessor companies, he held several positions with increasing responsibility, first serving as an associate counsel and later vice president of legal before being promoted to senior vice president of contracts and general counsel of the Integrated Systems Group. Before joining L-3, Post had a long and distinguished legal and military career, including with the Office of the Judge Advocate General and as an instructor at the Judge Advocate General's School.

Laurie N. Robinson Haden, ’98, senior vice president and assistant general counsel at CBS Corp. in New York. Before joining CBS in 2002, Robinson Haden worked at Seyfarth Shaw LLP and Epstein, Becker and Green, P.C., in New York, where she represented management in labor and employment matters. In addition to her role at CBS Corp., she is the founder and CEO of Corporate Counsel Women of Color, a nonprofit professional organization she created in 2004 to advance women-of-color attorneys and to foster diversity in the legal profession.

Robinson Haden has been recognized with the law school’s Distinguished Service Award. She has also been honored by the National Bar Association’s Women Lawyers Division as the recipient of the first M. Ashley Dickerson Award; listed as one of the 25 Most Influential Black Women in Business; and named as one of the 2015 Top Influential African-American Lawyers in America. Among many other awards, she has been recognized as one of the 10 Up-And-Coming African-American Lawyers to Watch by Diversity & the Bar magazine, and she was listed as a “Power Broker” by Inside Counsel in its GC 50 list of the most influential in-house counsel in North America. 

Randolph Seger, ’72, a partner at Bingham Greenebaum Doll LLP in Indianapolis. He has practiced for over 40 years before the Indiana Utility Regulatory Commission and other state, local and federal courts, boards, and regulatory and governing agencies. Throughout his law career, he has advised utilities and other entities with regard to mergers, acquisitions, rates, financing and certifications and approvals related to the telecommunications, sewer and water, and energy industries. In addition, he has advised various municipalities, investor-owned utilities and developers on utility matters, including expansion and extension of utilities for economic development. He has also advised agribusiness interests in organization, expansion, contractual, utility and environmental issues. In law school, he was elected to Beta Gamma Sigma and Order of the Coif and served on the Indiana Law Journal. He is past president and chair of the Indiana State Bar Association Utility Law Section and a member of the board of director of the Indiana University Foundation.

Founded in 1842, the Indiana University Maurer School of Law is the oldest public law school in the Midwest. The law school is ranked 25th in the nation by U.S. News & World Report. It is the highest-ranked public law school in Indiana and among the top 10 public law schools nationally. In addition to its top-25 overall ranking, the school also has highly ranked programs in international law, at 18th; tax, at 20th; and intellectual property, at 23rd. A complete Board of Visitors listing can be found on the law school's website.