Primary Navigation

News & Media

Alpha transparency layer
David L. CardenDavid L. Carden

Print Quality Photo

Catherine ConwayCatherine Conway

Print Quality Photo

Gonzalo P. CurielGonzalo P. Curiel

Print Quality Photo

Joseph D. O'ConnorJoseph D. O'Connor

Print Quality Photo

James Boyd
IU Maurer School of Law
Office 812-855-0156

Ken Turchi
IU Maurer School of Law
Office 812-856-4044
Cell 317-513-0321


Four inducted into Maurer School of Law's Academy of Law Alumni Fellows

April 20, 2016


BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- Their paths took them all over the world, making an impact as far away as Southeast Asia and as close as Bloomington. But for the four inductees into the Academy of Law Alumni Fellows, those paths all began from the same place: the Indiana University Maurer School of Law.

Dean Austen L. Parrish inducted retired Ambassador David L. Carden, U.S. District Judge Gonzalo P. Curiel and attorneys Catherine Conway and Joseph D. O’Connor on April 15, inside the Tudor Room at the Indiana Memorial Union.

“It is a privilege to add these four names to our distinguished list of Academy of Law Alumni Fellows,” Parrish said. “David, Cathy, Gonzalo and Joe have distinguished themselves in their careers through personal achievement and dedication to the highest standards of the legal profession. It is an honor for the law school to induct them into the academy.”

The Academy of Law Alumni Fellows is the highest honor the law school can bestow on alumni.

About the inductees:

David L. Carden, ’76, had a distinguished legal career with Kirkland & Ellis, Coffield Ungaretti and later Jones Day. He was nominated by President Barack Obama as ambassador to the Association of Southeast Asian Nations in 2010, serving until 2013. The U.S. Department of State awarded him its Superior Honor Award, an honor rarely given to a political appointee serving as an ambassador. He served on the law school's Board of Visitors for 12 years and was awarded the university’s Thomas Hart Benton Mural Medallion in 2014. Carden now resides in Singapore, where he is partner-in-charge of Asia for Jones Day.

Catherine A. Conway, ’78, has more than 25 years of trial experience. She is a nationally renowned expert in employment law and one of the first trial advocate employment attorneys in California. She began her career at the Marion County Prosecutor’s Office before translating her extensive courtroom experience into an enormously successful employment law career. She received the California Lawyer of the Year award from California Lawyer in the employment law category in 2010. She joined Gibson Dunn & Crutcher in 2012 and has served on the law school’s Board of Visitors since 2004.

Gonzalo P. Curiel, ’79, began his legal career at a small private firm in Dyer, Ind., before moving to California in the late 1980s. He began working as an assistant U.S. attorney in the San Diego and Los Angeles offices, serving with distinction as chief and deputy chief of the narcotics section. He tried more than 300 cases over his 27 years with the U.S. attorney’s office. He then moved to the bench, sitting on the San Diego County Superior Court until 2012, when Obama appointed him U.S. district judge for the Southern District of California. His dedication to the Maurer School of Law is deep: In 1998 he co-founded a scholarship to honor his late brother Antonio, a 1975 graduate from the law school.

Joseph D. O’Connor, ’78, has been an invaluable member of the Bloomington community since 1983, when he began a career with Bunger and Robertson, the firm he’s been with for 33 years. During that span, he has dedicated himself to Bloomington causes like the Monroe County Criminal Justice Coordinating Council, United Way, Leadership Bloomington, the Bloomington Hospital Advisory Board and countless other organizations. He was one of two Indiana attorneys inducted into the American College of Trial Lawyers this year. O’Connor served on the law school’s Alumni Board from 2002 to 2013 and as its president in 2012. He has been an adjunct professor at the law school since 2010 and received the Adjunct Faculty Teaching Award in 2013.